Killara High School logo

Killara High School

Killara High School

Unleash Potential. Change the World.

Telephone02 9498 3722

Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the high school years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 8 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science
  • technological and applied studies (TAS).

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about the curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. High school covers Stages 4 to 6.

  • Stage 4 includes Years 7 and 8.
  • Stage 5 includes Years 9 and 10.
  • Stage 6 includes Years 11 and 12.

What does that stand for?

Some acronyms you may hear:

  • CAPA - Creative and Performing Arts - ie Drama, Music, Visual Arts
  • HSIE - Human Society and Its Environment - ie Geography, History
  • KLA - Key Learning Area
  • KSP - Killara Schools Partnership (KHS and our local primary schools)
  • LOTE - Languages Other Than English
  • NS6 - The North Shore 6 Partnership (KHS and our local secondary schools)
  • PDHPE - Personal Development Health Physical Education
  • SRE - Special Religious Education.

Related content