Technological and applied studies (TAS) is mandatory for all students in Year 7 and 8. Students can also select from a range of elective TAS subjects in Stages 5 and 6.

In TAS, students use a range of tools, materials and techniques in the design process and technological experiences through theory and practical lessons. As well as the mandatory study of technology, students can select from a range of elective TAS subjects.

The continuum of technology learning is:

  • based on students becoming increasingly sophisticated in their ability to design and produce solutions for authentic needs and opportunities
  • an option for student specialisation in high school through a range of syllabuses addressing particular technologies and aspects of design

Elective courses for Stage 5 include:

  • Design and Technology
  • Food Technology
  • Graphics Technology
  • Industrial Technology
  • Information and Software Technology
  • Textiles Technology

Elective courses for Stage 6 include:

  • Design and Technology
  • Engineering Studies
  • Food Technology
  • Industrial Technology
  • Information Processes and Technology
  • Software Design and Development
  • Textiles and Design